top of page

About Us


Nu Rho Psi is the National Honor Society in Neuroscience, founded in 2006 by the Faculty of Neuroscience. In our chapter at the University of Virginia, we connect our members with pre-professional resources for a future career in neuroscience and promote engagement in neuroscience in the Charlottesville community.

UVA Parents Program recently awarded the UVA chapter of the Nu Rho Psi National Neuroscience Honor Society with $900.00 for their outreach project. With the additional support from UVA Student Council and the Program in Fundamental Neuroscience, this past spring our local Nu Rho Psi chapter hosted Peabody School for a neuroscience field trip to UVA. 


Special thanks to the Treasurer of Nu Rho Psi, Shrinidhi Kittur (Class 2025, Neurosci major), who applied for these funds. Our local chapter was founded by Isabelle Witteveen (Class of 2020) and Sakar Budhathoki (Class of 2020) in 2020. Prof Xiaorong Liu has been serving as the faculty adviser since 2019. The current executive team of Nu Rho Psi, Abhi Verma (Class of 2024, Neurosci major), Kathryn Chung (Class of 2024, Neurosci major), Jason Borst (Class of 2024, Cog Sci major), Nandini Sriram (Class of 2024, Neurosci major), Shrinidhi Kittur (Class of 2025, Neurosci major), and Trisha Maheshwari (Class of 2024, Psychology and Cog Sci major) are extremely grateful for these funds to promote this organization and its students at UVA and beyond. 

  • Instagram

The deadline for Undergraduate Research Grants for the summer of 2024 and the 2024- 2025 academic year is Friday April 5.  This provides up to $1000 to support the research of your members and includes $1000 of support for awardees to present their research at a Society for Neuroscience meeting.


For information and to apply, visit:


Our Chapter of the Year, Faculty Member of the Year, and Student Member of the Year Awards are all due on May 1. For information and to apply visit our awards site at:


Recent Blog Postings

bottom of page